• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Problem with DPMS 18" fluted bull barrel upper assembly

I'm new to 308 AR and this forum.  As the title indicates, I have a problem with a complete upper assembly build on a DPMS lower.  I use carbine buffer tube, DPMS 308 lower kit, AR 15 carbine length buffer, and Tubb Superior shooting buffer spring (for 308).

I was following DPMS's instruction for break-in the barrel.  The ammo used was Federal 150 gr soft point from Walmart. I loaded one round to Pmag (Magpul 20 rounder), fired it.  Cleaned the barrel; loaded another round to mag, chambered and fired it, no problem.  Cleaned barrel again, loaded 2 rounds in the mag, the first one fired, pulled the trigger again, nothing happened.  Now, with a live round in the chamber, the bolt was not completely closed, I couldn't remove the round from chamber, the bolt was locked.  Luckily, I was able to open the bolt with a padded screwdriver and removed the live round.  I then inspected the feeding ramp, it was rough.

My best guesses are: 1. the buffer spring is too strong that the bolt was not fully pushed back to correctly chamber a following round; 2. the rough feeding ramp dragged the following round and in combination to possible problem 1; 3. resulted from soft point ammo; or 4. had something to do with headspace.

I change to regular AR15 carbine buffer spring, re-cleaned and re-oiled the bolt assembly, polished feed ramp with dremel polishing wheel.  This time I used surplus ball ammo for a test.  It was better, one of five round got stuck with the bolt not complete close, forward assist didn't help.  It was not as tight as before.  I could eject the round forcefully with the charging handle.