• Visit EuroOptic
  • Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Contemplating a SBR and need some NFA guidance please..

AdamO

So I've been bit by the .300BLK bug and my goal this year is to build a suppressed SBR.  I'm pretty sure the direction I want to go with parts, etc., so I'm not going to get into that.   This is about the whole NFA process and the 'gotcha's' to look out for.  I know NOTHING about any of this so go gentle - it's my first time...

So getting down to it, I'm debating the individual vs. trust route.  Thanks to AZ HB-2535 "Shall Sign" signed into law last July, getting CLEO sign-off really isn't an issue either way.  

I am worried about doing it right and not getting caught with my pants down. So here we go...

#1 If I do a personal Form 1 then I am the owner.... end of it.  Seems like it would leave my wife/kids in a pretty vulnerable position if I don't keep my SBR and paperwork on my person 100% of the time.  In other words... no leaving it at the house in the safe when I'm not there else, my wife (who has access to the safe) is now 'technically' in possession of an SBR that is not hers...  BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD!  So I'm thinking a trust is a good idea - and it's not about loopholes.

#2 What about the kids?  I could go the trust route and my wife would then be covered, but my kids who are under 21 and can't lawfully possess a hand gun would not be eligible to be on the trust and would then find themselves in the same scenario as my wife in #1?   Or is having the item secured a fair enough mitigation regardless of it being 'on the premises'