• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Gas Much?

So I finally took "Sheila" out to the range this past Sat for the first time since finishing the build. Lubed her up until she was dripping wet. I tested the adjustable gas block odin works. As much as I can until the bolt finally catches on the catch with an empty mag. Of course shooting 1 round at a time. Of course I have a feeding problem. I've read all the diagnosis here on the forums. I've written everything down to fix the feeding issue one at a time. And I will get this feeding issue fixed. but its not what I am here for. Yet....:embarrassed:

when I started shooting "Sheila" I've noticed that maybe 1-2 rounds (ejected) the neck where the lead sits is ripped down to the casing body, not by much but very noticeable . I should have taken a picture but unfortunately forgot. I took a pic marked with a marker where the tear would be. Then jams on the 4th round. Also should have taken a picture of it jammed. When it jams on the 3rd or 4th round. It looks like Its trying to eject the empty cartridge and chamber a round but gets stuck with the empty round above the new round. Too much gas maybe? I don't know.

Anyway. I was at Sportsman warehouse and spoke to a gentleman about it. Said it was a gas issue. Then passed me to another gentleman who has a little more experience. He also said the same thing. Both said I have gassed it too much. Is there such a thing? Too much gas? This is what the 2nd gentleman with the experience said: