• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

A quick primer in to Canadian gun laws

Cunuckgaucho

I was asked in another thread(which I failed to read properly/completely) for a basic explanation how gun laws work here in Canada.

I'm not a lawyer but I'll do my best.

As this is a basic overview,feel free to asked for more clarification or about things I haven't answered.

The most obvious thing is in Canada there is nothing resembling the 2nd Amendment.

In Canada,firearm law is a federal jurisdiction so in theory it's the same law regardless of which province your in. The reality is some provinces are less friendly imposing extra hurdles or being slow at processing things.

There are three classification of firearms licence in Canada.

(1) Prohibited-no longer issued but folks that possessed firearms in this class were grandfathered.

(2) Restricted- Allows possession of restricted class firearms(see below). To get this requires a 2 day course with a written/practical test. This along with your application is submitted along with two references. It then sits for a minimum of 28 days before being proceeded.   Actual time can vary with  no rhyme or reason .

Restricted firearms are:

• Any handgun that is not prohibited (note: handguns are prohibited if the barrel length is inferior to 105 millimetres (4.1 in); handguns cannot be non-restricted)
  • Any firearm that is:
  • not prohibited
  • that has a barrel length inferior to 470 millimetres (18.5 in), and
  • is capable of operating in a semi-automatic manner
  • Any firearm that can be fired when the overall length has been reduced by folding, telescoping, or other means to less than 660 millimetres (26 in)