• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

(First post) Ejection problems on MK-3

CaveMan

Hello all,

I just purchased an 18" barrel MK-3 from my local store. It's my first AR-style rifle (although not my first gas gun .308). I'm a bit of noob to this platform, but am having some problems. See if you can figure out what's going on. Any help is appreciated.

Here's the gun:

SeatM.jpg

Beautiful, ain't it?

First session I shot around 40 rounds through it, and it seemed to leave the last round in the ejection port when the mags are finished. It did this about 3 times, after emptying the mag about 6 times.

[img width=810 height=607]http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-lJJO0u4h6Ik/T5dQkE8Z4sI/AAAAAAAAAf0/WCcI8YsJjTo/s1600/last+shot+case.jpg

No big deal, technically, since I am about the swap the mag at that point anyway and the round just falls out.

The ejection seems to be a little weak, since the cases more-or-less stay on the shooting bench with me after they are shot. I can even put my duffel bag next to the gun and it flips them in there like it's flipping a cigarette. Standing, the cases probably go 3 feet. I thought, "maybe this is how all ARs eject."

But then this happened:

[img width=810 height=607]http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-jydzs088zwY/T5dQgMTUlaI/AAAAAAAAAes/2-M6klbc_Ck/s1600/Jam+1.jpg

It's pretty darn stuck in there. It took some banging to get the case out of there.

Here's a shot of the jam with the bolt pulled back:

[img width=810 height=607]http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-zEDdqXyIOJI/T5dQjmiFYCI/AAAAAAAAAfs/UzehXVVLnjo/s1600/jam+2.jpg

The case is really stuck.

I took it to my local store last weekend to install a new scope mount, and I mentioned the jam to the clerk. He just threw a bunch of oil on there, and said "Keep running it. Get a few hundred rounds through, then worry about it."

Good advice, I think.