• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Recommended Tools

Ok being is this is my first build what is recommended requirement for tools? I see a lot and wonder what is needed and what is just extra. I have a armorers tool already. Looking at all the tools it can make your head spin <laughs>

Thanks <thumbsup>

Hiya Spectra    A lil brass gunsmith hammer,allen wrenches...not on a keyring....punches...wheeler has some...brass ones arnt my favs...they bend.model one sales has a ar15 punch kit for like 15 bucks.....a lil plastic gunsmith hammer too

:)Wash

I purchased the DPMS Claw after looking at several of those.  I looked at the PRI and I am sure it would have worked, but I kept thinking how sick I would feel if I snapped that $124 upper receiver during the build trying to save a few bucks.  You will be happy that you have that extra polymer of the Claw jammed up in the upper receiver when you start laying the torque to the barrel nut. 

Whether it be automotive, woodworking or firearms tools, you will rarely regret buying the best tools you can afford. 

I recommended these on the other thread as well..... the PRI barrel nut wrenches are pretty good to have for both 308 and 556.  You can use both 1/2 and 3/8 torque wrenches with them. 

Washguy hit it right.  A good brass hammer and a nice set of punches will serve you well though the years.  My wife bought me a jewelers hammer that was brass on one side of the head and delrin (sp) on the other side. 

Good luck with the build.