• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Press cam-over

survivalshop

Here is an interesting read on Cam-over a reloading press over . Something I have done for a very long time , mostly because the Die instructions say to & it makes Case Head Spacing correct on my presses. I can see what he is talking about some presses that you have to watch out for the over cam'ing , but I never cam over all that much , I use very little & I've been using the same single stage press for almost forty years . 

My Dillon 550B , I set up to just take the play out of the Tool Head , no cam over .

CAM-OVER: DON’T DO IT. JUST DON’T.

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail
facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestyoutube

This is a specially-adapted excerpt from the forthcoming book, “Top Grade Ammo,” by author Glen Zediker, owner of Zediker Publishing. Click here to order from Midsouth.

by Glen Zediker

My approach to some topics has changed over the years. It used to be that I would state my version of the truth, and explain its origin, and that meant also that anything not said didn’t matter, to me, or to the advice and instruction I was set out to deliver. Well. The internet.

camming linkage effect Here’s camming linkage and its effect. On left is the maximum height attained by the ram; on right is the ram position at the full-limit stop on the press handle. It’s 0.020 inches on this press. As long as the shellholder is not being contacted, presses with this sort of linkage have a smooth feel to them and do a little more positive job of sizing. In effect, the case gets sized twice (the ram elevates again just as the press handle is lowered). Linkage, either way, has zero effect on setting up a die because you measure what you get anyhow, and adjust the die accordingly, after you see what it is that you got.