• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Intro AR help

bwsmith

I am new to the AR platform and need a little guidance.  I have decided that my next rifle is going to be an AR in 308.  I am looking for something that I can mod out as I go (and get funds) with nice furniture and maybe a stainless fluted barrel.  What can I say, I like stainless :)  But all of my weapons are for specific purposes and this is going to be my new pig popper.  So it will have a scope mounted in short order and will be carried a fair distance.  My budget is about $1000 to get started for the base gun.  I was looking at a DPMS Sportical .308.  My only hesitation is that it looks like my customization options are going to be fairly limited.  Any input or advise is appreciated.

Thanks for joining. Like I tell other folks if your planning on ordering a rifle from DPMS forget about it. Your looking at a minimum of 18 months to 2 years. The more options you add the longer it will take. Your best path is to find a rifle on the shelf that's closest to what you want.

Are you right handed? The smooth uppers aren't well suited for lefties.

Im not sure what you mean by  your customization options will be limited. In general the .308's have less options then an AR-15 but the climate is improving.

If you havent done so check out the banner for Impact Guns, they have a section on the DPMS .308's that will give you a reasonable idea of street prices.

The problem is there is not one standard in .308's.

In fact DPMS is probably your best choice customizing and slowly becoming the most popular of the variations. DPMS and KAC are based on the original Stoner design. Armalite moved away from that design during the AWB.

Many of the parts are compatible, you just need to know which ones arent. Magazines, bolts and barrel nut threads are the big differences.