• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Wanting to build an SR-25 clone.

I am kind of new to the 308 AR world so feel free to correct me where I have confused things.

So I want an SR-25, but I (like most people) don't have $4500 dollars laying around, so I am "settling" on a clone, or as close as I can get. I have a few questions.

From what I can tell there are two basic groups of 308/AR-10s, the DPMS and the Armalite. Will the KAC rail fit either the AR-10 from Armalite or the LR208 from DPMS?

Will c-product mags and pmags work in both of them or just in the DPMS?

From what I can tell I can use the DPMS and have the good mags but not the rail, although I could use the Troy MRF-308 rail which is very similar instead. Or I can use the Armalite and get the actual rail but be stuck with possible magazine problems.

Thanks for any advice or answers.

Here's a couple quick bits of info (getting ready to leave for work here).

There are only two types of magazines:  Armalite-compatible and DPMS/KAC-compatible.  Every .308 semi varient uses one of those two types of magazines. 

There are two types of barrel threading:  Armalite and DPMS.  All barrel nuts and rails are threaded for one or the other, so that affects your rail choice.  Speaking of that, KAC rails have a special barrel nut wrench, and the thing is about $250.  That's just what you need to put the rail on - not the cost of the rail itself.  THere are places that offer the rail-mounting service, but doing it yourself is almost cost-prohibitive.

There are two types of upper receivers:  Yep, you guessed it, Armalite and DPMS based parts.