• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New build accuracy

nzhills

Hi

An FNG just starting here. There is so much experience and trial on this web site.

I have limited experience with semi auto's, but a far bit with bolt action single shot target rifles. Hence, I'm only interested in putting holes in paper. I like the AR10 for its accuracy potential. At the moment I just have questions that need answering prior to a build.

I think I am right in saying the LR is different to the AR. Is this correct? How do they differ? Which platform has the greatest accuracy potential?

Is stoning trigger components advisable, (not burying them in sand then throwing rocks at them but using a fine grade of stone to polish the engagement faces), or is the dependability of a drop in trigger group replacement better? Is there a possibility of a runaway if I was to start stoning sear engagements, (however wouldn't this depend on the height of the engagement and not the face that is being stoned)?

Because I want performance out to 900 to 1000 yards I'll need at least 24" of barrel length, (to keep projectile velocity up) and I will have to use decent VLD projectiles in the 165-180 grain range. Are there many quality barrels made this long for the AR or LR?

Additionally, it has been mentioned that the LR seems to tolerate reloads better than the AR, (just a personal finding). But this individual went on to say that he has to full length resize every hand load. Is it necessary to full length resize every hand load or does functioning get problematic if this isn't done?