• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

First .308 Build PROBLEM

2gunkid

Hey guys, 2gunkid here and this is my first post. I decided to go ahead to join a .308 dedicated forum to help me out with this build since 4 local gun shops and the respective companies who provided the parts are all no help! This is my first Build chambered in .308. I have a Davidson Defense upper paired on an Aero precision lower And I'm using a LR .308 BCG I ordered from brownells ( i think brownells is the manufacturer, great deal couldn't pass it up.) 

So here's where the malfunction is, The upper and the lower seat together perfectly with no magazine inserted. If you insert the magazine the magazine catch does not catch. ( I've replaced the mag catch already (even though it was brand new) not the problem.  Now If i Open up the ar and place the magazine in the lower it works as intended ( only when the rear take down pin is off and the upper and lower pivot on the front take down pin).  If i were to leave the magazine inserted while it is open and then proceed to re-close the AR the magazine will get stuck to where even the magazine release wouldn't let the mag fall freely, not even pulling the magazine. So far I've sent the upper back to the manufacturer for inspection, they fitted the upper with an Aero lower and said they fit together, fitting together wasn't my question, fitment with a magazine inserted does not work. so they sent the upper back with a good luck message. I've also tried polymer and Steel Mags, No difference. All local gun shops are puzzled. Please Help!

12 hours ago, 98Z5V said:

THIS is the issue. Research the company.  Buy an Aero upper receiver, and put that Davidson Defense upper on GunBroker...