• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Assemble a DPMS Panther Arms LR-308 Upper Receiver

• 6 months later...

I'm trying to complete a SR-25/M-110 clone build but my state has banned all SR series rifles.  I'm new to the LR .308/AR-10 platform rifles and I'm in the process of putting together a Tactical Machining .308 (DPMS platform) but I'm not super stoked about the options I have for upper receivers and free float systems.  My question is will a KAC SR-25 rail and barrel nut work with DPMS upper receiver threads and barrel extensions?  If not what other options would I have other than trying to get a lower that is SR-25 upper compatible or having a crazy super custom upper built?  Thanks in advance for your help.

I'm trying to complete a SR-25/M-110 clone build but my state has banned all SR series rifles.  I'm new to the LR .308/AR-10 platform rifles and I'm in the process of putting together a Tactical Machining .308 (DPMS platform) but I'm not super stoked about the options I have for upper receivers and free float systems.  My question is will a KAC SR-25 rail and barrel nut work with DPMS upper receiver threads and barrel extensions?  If not what other options would I have other than trying to get a lower that is SR-25 upper compatible or having a crazy super custom upper built?  Thanks in advance for your help.

First, the rail type won't have anything to do with the barrel extension - don't sweat that in any configuration; the barrel extension has to be compatible with the bolt, though. 

I highly doubt the KAC rail for the SR-25 will mount to the DPMS upper - but I've never removed or installed a KAC SR-25/M110 rail on anything before.