• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Looking for a good first time 7.62 AR

AR_Addict

Hey everyone.

I have been looking at buying a 7.62 AR for awhile, and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to what would be a good AR to start with.

I was hoping to find one that is accurate, durable and at least semi affordable.  Isn't that always the magic combination  ;) ?

Looking forward to your help!

Welcome. Besides your previous stated purchase points, what else are you looking for? Do you have ar experience, regardless the caliber? I would start by deciding exactly what you like, then set a budget, and make a list. Do you know what the end use will be? Like it's smaller bretheren, size matters. Then its the optics and other goodies. Sorry, that probably didn't help <dontknow> <lmao>

Alas no, I have no AR experience past reading everything about them I can find.  Oh, yeah, and playing with everyone I can find at Gander Mountain  <laughs>

Actually, I want a gun that is tough enough to take hunting in the lovely local swamplands, AND give me good groupings on the range.

Plus I think AR's are cool looking ;) .

DPMS rifles are a good start point. Handfull of models to choose from....Panther Sportical will probably be lowest price entry level gun.$800-$900  .LR series $1100-1200...The Remington R25 you see at Dicks and Gander Mnt. are made by DPMS, your paying little extra for a paint job..Guys I work with that have bought them say they're very accurate, reliable.......after that, sky's the limit on what you wanna spend and build.......Oh, and once you buy one, your gonna want another and another..So when it starts,don't say you weren't warned... :D....happy shootin and welcome to the club...