• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

PWS Mk2 & Mk1

EZTundra77

So I'm new to the world of AR rifles.  I'm a long time fan of the AK platform which is what led me to PWS.  I really like the gas piston design.  Here are my first 2 Stoner variants.  On the bottom is a PWS Mk116 Mod 1 that i picked up heavily discounted as soon as the Mod 2 series came out.  Above, you'll find it's big brother, a PWS Mk216 that was not on sale in any way shape or form.  I actually had a bit of a hard time finding it at first.  The Mk1 has a Trijicon MRO on a Scalarworks QD mount.  The full cowitness aligns perfectly with Magpul Pro BUIS.  It also has BCM keymod Mod 3 vert grip, & a Seekins angled foregrip.  The Mk2 is pictured just out of the box, but now has a BCM std. vertical grip, Troy 45˚ Offset BUIS, and a Nightforce NXS 2.5-10x42 Zero Stop w/ MOAR reticle. I chose a Larue LT-111 OBR QD mount.  I've never used a QD mount successfully with a .308 rifle.  We'll see how it goes.  I've heard mixed reviews on the LT-104.  Some say it doesn't hold up to hard field use on a .308.  But the 111 is supposed to do better with larger calibers.  I also chose the 111 because it has no MOA built into the mount.  With a 16" barrel, I dont plan on shooting father than 600 yards.  If I want to punch out farther, I have a different tool for that.  I'll submit a pic showing the Mk2 with gear installed.

Anyways, the 5.56 is a really nice plinking gun and for potential self defense in a SHTF scenario.  Though I do have some TTSX 77gr that would certainly down a deer with decent shot placement.  The 7.62 is for hunting.  I like 168 Triple X TTSX best since it's devastating and I try and avoid lead in my food.   But in a pinch, I have a bunch of 165gr Federal Vital Shok and 180gr Fed. Power shok.  

Anyways, like I said, I'm new to AR's.  Any tips you guys have are more than welcome.