• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Matrix blemished receivers

beeks

I received mine this past week.  Overall I'm quite satisfied.  The only blemish I can find is on the side of where the front takedown pin goes.  It kind of looks like they squeezed it so the upper and lower would fit together tighter.  I'm a machinist, I've seen this technique before.  It doesn't appear that they squeezed it much.  No complaints there (since I knew it was blemished before hand).

The clearance between the upper and lower where the rear takedown pin is installed is definitely looser than my other DPMS style receiver.  I am pretty new to the AR so I'm not sure how much clearance there should be, however I'm guess that in a perfect world there wouldn't be any clearance.  Just a snug fit. 

I'd like to know if the upper or lower is the cause of the extra clearance.  I plan on massaging the receivers to fit better.  I'd like to address the half that is the problem.  Would anyone know what the dimensions should be?  or how much clearance there should be? 

I noticed my set would tighten up if I squeezed it together even with the takedown pin in. My first thought was to see if the Armalite oversized pin wouldn't help take up the slop;

https://armalite.com/shop/ar-10-take-down-pin-oversized/

Problem is I don't want to spend the money without seeing the specs on the pin....maybe Armalite will finish updating the site one of these days.

EDIT: I found the numbers below on the page with all their pins directly underneath it,

https://armalite.com/product-category/lowers/lower-receivers-parts/

does these mean anything to anyone, I'm not sure if they mean they taper from one dimension to the other or is this the normal size and the oversize? Still can't find a length but then I guess I can measure the one in my AR-10 when I get home.

Diameter: .277" - .291"