• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New to AR's and new to site

Horribilis

I finally caught the AR bug after years of being content with my SKS.  I saw a Remington R-25 at a gun show a couple months ago - it was chambered in .308.  I spoke to the guy and he told me that they also come in 7mm-08 and .243 Winchester.  My interest was peaked....I had been considering a 25-06 to fill the void in my arsenal between my .22 mag and .300 Win. Mag.  Once I heard that I could get an AR in .243, I started researching...that lead me to this site and I have decided to go the route of an AR-243 instead of a bolt 25-06.  This will mainly be a coyote, plinking, varmint and occasional antelope gun.

Yes - since I am a total AR newbie I am going with complete upper and lowers to pin together and start rocking-n-rolling.  I have neither the know how nor tools to build up my own lower or upper...just being honest about my limitations - hahaha

That being said, I have ordered a DPMS complete LR-243 upper in the 20" heavy barrel variety, and I am on the verge of following that up with a Tactical Machining complete TM-10 lower with collapsible stock.  Things are getting exciting!

SWEET! Received my DMPS upper and mags on Friday. Ordered my Tactical Machining lower with collapsible stock last Monday - it won't be ready for about 3 weeks. Currently researching scoping and mounting options. Also looking at lasers to put on also for CQ targeting.

I am now wondering how difficult it is to swap out the handguard on the DPMS upper assembly.  I am thinking that I want to put a multi-rail handguard on.

Will any AR handguard work, or are there only certain ones that work with the large frame AR's?  How difficult a task is this?

Here is a photo of the upper assembly I got:  597175.jpg