• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Dpms 308

tprince10

Well guys I'm new to the ar-10 world and I have purchased a dpms LR-308 sporticle. Here is my problem the upper receiver that came on the gun, is 1/2 in rail height. No not a 1/8 or 3/16 a 1/2 in so I bought a high profile xts 15 in rail. So now I have to buy a high profile upper receiver. What upper do I need to buy, because I've heard only certain ones work. 

Thanks ,

tye

ah yess...the goofy "target" height upper strikes again. DPMS doesn't make the "high" uppers anymore so you will most likely need to find a DPMS compatible upper made by someone else. The manufacturers usually specify what profile they use in their product description. 

any Dpms compatible upper should fit your lower...but there is always some risk when mixing manufacturers with these big frame guns. someone will probably chime in with personal experience, but if you stick with a reputable company you should be ok. I believe Aero Precision use the high rail and are solid uppers.

Aero fits 2.06 and they are cheap. About 150 bux. The takedown pin holes on aero uppers are a fraction of a millimeter off from some lower receiver takedown pin holes.  The pins still fit but you have to do some pounding to get them in and out.

Just went through the rail height conundrum with a creedmoor I just built. I used an odin rail. The rail is the same in 2.0 and 2.06.  The barrel nut on this particular rail is what makes them line up and odin offers both 2.0 and 2.06 barrel nuts.  

Pics of of your lower receiver might help you get a better answer as to the upper and lower receivers matching up.

Edited by MrPaul

I agree , photo's will help . You have a factory  DPMS Sport Tactical with the Target Upper Receiver or is it someones Build ?

I assume you have something like this below.