• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Any 6mm creedmore devotees ?

willbird

I have a lot of experience with 6-284 in a bolt action. That gun is a 1-8 twist and shoots well sub 1/2 moa from bipod with bullets from 107 to 75 grains. The "twist too fast for light bullets" does not seem to matter a bit for that rifle, it will run a 75 vmax 3500 fps or so.

Thinking about building a short, light, handy 6mm creedmore for woodchucks.

Bill

I shot a buddy's PRS rifle chambered in 6 Creedmoor the weekend before New Years. What a cartridge! Something like 8 mils of drop at 1,000 yards, IIRC.

6.5 CM is almost 10 mils, .308 Win is almost 11 mils.

Never in all my shooting have I fired at a target further than 250(ish) yards away with any confidence of hitting my target. With that rifle, I was reliably and repeatably making hits on steel out to 1,200 yards.

My next large-frame build will be chambered in 6mm Creedmoor. If I can convince the wife, I'll probably end up with a bolt gun in 6mm Creedmoor, too...

6 hours ago, COBrien said:

I shot a buddy's PRS rifle chambered in 6 Creedmoor the weekend before New Years. What a cartridge! Something like 8 mils of drop at 1,000 yards, IIRC.

6.5 CM is almost 10 mils, .308 Win is almost 11 mils.

That's weird - the numbers.  Not saying they're off, they are probably on the money.  The weird parts is my .260 Rem load - it's 8.5 mils at 1,000 and 10.0 mils at 1,100.

9 hours ago, Belt Fed said:

I have a 6.5, how do the two compare?