• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New to AR and lookin' at DPMS Recon 308

I'm brand new to AR platforms outside of the M16A2 I used in bootcamp,A.I.T, and the N.G. years ago. I know I want a .308 to have a double used gun in targets and hunting whitetails, I want it short and lite for quick throws and quick targeting and ablility to carry through haevy brush. Max. distance I'll be shooting is 300 maybe 400 yards, 200 max at deer. I'm looking at the DPMS .308 Recon and the 3G1 with a 18" barrel. extra 2 inches is the only reason Im lookin at the 3G1. Is the 16" barrel gonna have enough to maintain speed and energy for game hunting and quick kills? Is DPMS a good brand to go with,?I'll probably never fire more than 800-1000 rounds. I like that the recon has just about all the options I'm lookin for,free float barrel, quad rails, flat top, ss barrel, magpul stock etc. already together off the shelf..all and any feedback will be apriciated.

I looked at the remingtons, I just bought the 700 sps camo in the 270 cal. with a leupold vx3 4x14 cds scope, 0'ed it with 4 shots and has a 1/4-1/2 inch groups @ 100 and 200 yards, The R-25 lead me to the DPMS because it will take the mags on the LR308's. now that I know that 16" barrel is good is DPMS products a good quality product? Durable, rugid, dependable in just about all conditions, freezing temps. rain, sleet, snow etc.?

I don't own a DPMS but alot of guys on here do,i'm sure they will give you some feed back soon. From what I gather they are good guns and sale far more AR's than any other manufacturer. You can buy or build better AR's but they will hurt your wallet! :o If you tell us your budget we can better suggest the most gun for your $$$

Welcome to the forum! <thumbsup>

Stay far away from CMMG's !! :puke: