• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Hello 308AR Fans

DocLarsen

Hey .308 AR fans,

My screen name, DocLarsen, comes from the fact that I was a hospital corpsman in the Navy. I was a surgical ICU tech from '72-'74 and an aviation physiology tech from '74-'76. (That should give you a rough clue of how old I am.) I don't really consider myself a gun-a-holic, but I did start shooting when I was around 8 in the boy scouts and took my first NRA gun safety class then. I've been around hunting and fishing all of my life and really love the outdoors. Other than one deer taken with a 30-30 lever action, I have always carried a .308 when I was deer hunting. I have a Savage Arms .308 bolt action that I use now, so when I decided that I wanted to get an AR style rifle for self defense, fun shooting and just the hell of it, a .308 was just a natural choice for me. It just makes sense to me to have my rifles in the same caliber and I view the .308 as the best all around caliber out there.

In addition to the deer gun, I have a couple of 12 ga. pump shotguns: 30" full choke and 28" modified cyl., a Ruger 10/22 (which I am thinking about outfitting like an AR), and a Ruger Super Blackhawk 7½" in 44mag. But like I mentioned, I decided that I needed a couple of self defense type guns.  In addition to the AR, I am also looking to get a concealable semiautomatic pistol in .40 S&W with a barrel >3" and <4".  There are several that fit the bill, but I haven't decided which one yet.  Like I said in the Revolver thread, I love my Blackhawk and how accurate that it is for me, but its just to much iron (stainless actually) to conveniently carry a lot of the time.