• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Fast enough?

Hotwrench

Please give your opinion of what f.p.s.would be ideal for a 20 inch barrel, 150gr FMJBT measured at 10 feet from the muzzle.

Or asked another way when reloading for a particular rifle what speed are you trying for with a 150gr FMJBT at 10 feet from the muzzle.  I am aware that you are also judging by the accuracy on target I am just trying to set my parameters.  While we are at it what s.d., e.s., and  do you believe is possible for this round in the real world?

So far I have a average max of 2560 f.p.s., s.d. of 19.97 and an e.s. 68 f.p.s. and decent accuracy with a 10 round sample using P.P.U. projectiles. See attached excel file and comment on the construction of the spreadsheet, it is my first attempt and some of you have been doing this far longer and more successfully than I have. I am using the 4320 because I bought a big jug at 70% off when a LGS quit selling reloading components.

Reloading work up PA10.xlsx

1 hour ago, 98Z5V said:

I set my gas gun range loads, general purpose loads, 150 Hornady FMJBT, at 2600 fps.  Bolt gun only load for that I go to 2750 fps, and it's a little hot. Even for the bolt guns.

Thanks, it looks like I am there and still have room to adjust o.a.l. a bit and find out what my rifle likes, as long as its shorter since I am at the magazine length at least for sure function in Magpuls.

I set all those things to 2.800" and run it.  The 2600fps loads does great with that OAL.  Those 2750s were loaded to 2.800" as well.  I just shot my last of those up on Sunday, and I'll only load up a limited number of them.  Those things stay separated from the others, just for the bolt gun use.  I'd hate to mix them up and toss them in a gas gun...   :embarrassed:

What kind of rifle , Bolt , Semi auto , 308AR ?  

Barrels Twist rate ?