• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

80% build/buffer tube question.

Vermonter

Howdy folks. I'm new to the world of working with AR platform rifles. I have built several AR 15's with various 80 percent lowers with no real problems so far. I decided to work on a DPMS pattern LR 308 build using a forged 80% lower from Rightobear.

My question is this. I purchased a complete upper from Bear Creek Arsenal with a 16 inch barrel along with a basic A2 stock kit from UTG. I've used the A2 style stock kit from UTG on a AR 15 build I did with very good luck, and was happy with the results.

When I assembled the rifle, the buffer tube shoulders out and tightens well before the lip of the buffer tube has a chance to catch and retain the detent pin. If I simply remove the detent and spring, with a bit of patience I can retain the spring and buffer, simply close the upper and lower and all seems well. I have not attempted to fire the rifle yet, from what I can tell every function seems fine, the magazine seems fine, the bolt catch seems to function fine, and all features of the BCG appear to be A-Ok. Am I missing something? Am I making some kind of rookie error?

From what I've been told and researched the .308 builds can be a bit more fussy thank working with the AR-15, is that a correct thought?

Thank you in advance for input!

5 hours ago, Vermonter said:

he buffer tube shoulders out and tightens well before the lip of the buffer tube has a chance to catch and retain the detent pin

So the tube is as far as it goes in those pics? Do you have another buffer tube you could check? Doubt it's the tube though, sure looks like some dimensional issues there.

2 hours ago, jtallen83 said:

So the tube is as far as it goes in those pics? Do you have another buffer tube you could check? Doubt it's the tube though, sure looks like some dimensional issues there.