• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

DPMS 308 FTE - fixed

hey guys.  great resource here. 

i am no rifle expert by any means and my shooting is recreational.  this is my second dpms rifle.  the first was an ar15 which i have had no problems what so ever.  so when i wanted a .308 i stuck with dpms.  i picked up a 308mk12.  i am having ejection issues.  about 1 or 2 every mag.  i've read alot on this subject and have tried the following.

pmags

polished the chamber as much as i am comfortable with.  i used a dowel and taped 800 grit sandpaper.

several different brands of ammo

sopping wet lube with synthetic oil.  i used valvoline because they had a thicker oil available.

i don't know how the parts of the bcg should be, but some differences i've noticed between the ar and lr:

bolt on the ar moves freely.  bolt on lr moves with some resistance.

the ejector on the ar is alot looser  than the lr.  the lr is really stiff.

the extractor on the ar is alot stiffer than the lr.

can the stiffer ejector and looser extractor combine to cause the bolt to release the spent casing prematurely?

the only extractor spring that i can find is the dpms or the fulton but no info as to whether either is original spec or heavier.  i'm just gonna order a fulton one and hope for the best.  its only $5.

or should i just pick up a complete fulton chrome bcg?   

thanks for any input.

When you get the FTEs, is the empty case still stuck to the bolt face, or is it just laying in the chamber? 

You may need to test this with only one round in the magazine.  Ensure that the bolt is locking to the rear, but see where the empty case goes.

As said above ,  need to know what's the position of the case not being ejected. Have you tried different magizines ? I see you say you have Pmags , but were others tried & what was there out come.