• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Reloading question

APR

When reloading for the AR 308 is it better to use a bullet with a cannelure ?    Is it a big deal , or not so much ?  I will have a 20" Match Bull Barrel with a 1X11 twist , should I use small base dies , or just full length re size ?

Semi-auto rifles - 5.56 and .308 - I hit every round with a light taper crimp.  Bullet setback can ruin your day, ruin your rifle, and possibly much worse.  Not worth the risk.  I hit them all, if they're going through the autoloaders.

Cannelure bullet not necessary ,but as 98 said , some kind of taper crimp or the new Factory crimp by " LEE " . I'm using them more & more often now & am getting one for all the rifle cal. I load .

I have been using a Taper crimp die for thirty years , with great success .

Small base dies in most cases are un necessary ,but if you load for various rifles , especially , semi auto's, they work well . 

Friend 98v5z, respectfully, HOW? can a set back bullet ruin your day, and rifle?

Ruin a group, yes, but I'v seen many deep seated bullets shot, and not one ruined a rifle.

Respectfully

Terry

Terry, some of my 5.56 loads are at the point where they're almost compressed loads.  Especially the heavies.  No crimp, no cannelure projos, and one of those catches going out of the mag and into the chamber - bullet setback, which definitely compresses the load.

Pressure spike, right there, and it's in the chamber, bolt closed on it.  You never get a chance to see it, during the loading process.  Pull the trigger on that one, and the rifle can come apart in your hands.