• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Over Gassed?

MLC

Good people of the forums,

I built a 308 using mostly Aero Precision parts (full parts list below). I put a box of regular Federal 308 through it and the buffer face is scratched where the bcg touches the buffer and where the buffer retaining pin hits the buffer face. The bolt face is a bit discolored too. It doesn't feel like a physical deformation, but it looks like the brass on the back of the round rubbed coloring onto the bolt face. 

I talked to Aero Precision, who suggested the gun is overgassed and I need to use a 3.8 oz buffer and standard 308 spring.  I called Luth-AR, who also suggested its overgassed. While I don't necessarily disagree with the diagnosis as I'm no expert, but the remedy sounds weird given that I'm using a 5.2 oz buffer and the spring that came with the kit. Any suggestions, to include "quit being a worry wort" or "do what they said" anyone has would be greatly appreciated.

Lower: Aero Precision

LPK: Aero Precision

Buffer, Spring, Tube and Stock: Luth-AR MB1 kit for 308

Upper: Aero Precision

BCG: Aero Precision phosphate bcg

Barrel: 16" Aero Precision with mid length gas tube 

Gas Block: Brownells .750 low profile

Gas Tube: Brownells mid length gas tube

Muzzle Device: Wilson Combat Q Comp

IMG_0229.JPG

IMG_0230.JPG

IMG_0231.JPG

IMG_0232.JPG

IMG_0234.JPG

that seem prety dry from the pics.. ?? for the buffer it looks like it ate some paint.. on entry nothing in the bcg that strikes the middle on the buffer unles major shifting.. when you close your upper on the lower the upper scrapes the buffer. common on tight tolerance. whats your regular load of federal and where did your empty brass land from the shooting position? 

did you hit the target? im just thinking.. no expert.. they are here and so are you!