• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Not a .308 but...

PaddyMac

Another member asked me to post pics of a build so here they are. This is a Cerro 80% AR15 lower with an Anderson TCG. Remaining Upper and stock parts are from Durkin Tactical. Barrel states .223 Wylde 1:8 MADE IN USA - no other markings - manufacture unknown. This is my first build to work out the kinks of machining and assembly before I drop a lot of money on a quality DPMS .308 build, hence the inexpensive upper kit. The mill and jig are a 80% Easy Gen 2 Jig. The unit mounted in the jig is a Cerro .308 DPMS compatible with 1 pass made on the mill. The semi assembled lower was completed as for as you see last week. Issues have been a tight safety and an extremely tight upper. The safety is loosening up with oil and working it on the block. The upper is tight on the rear pin boss in the lower. You can see the wear marks on the upper and the lower where both have been coaxed into alignment without luck. The upper is a Brass Aluminum Forgings unit - manufacture unknown. My plan is to measure the pin boss and recess in the lower to figure out who is out of spec and then address. Comment away - good and bad 🙂

20200309_101243.jpg

20200309_101324.jpg

20200309_101234.jpg

20200309_101203.jpg

20200309_101132.jpg

20200309_101145.jpg

20200309_101346.jpg

20200309_101356.jpg

Thanks. Whipped out the dial calipers and this is what I found. Pin boss on the upper is .496 - I found this exact spec on a AR15 drawing. After looking for specs for the lower on the interwebs I found measurements of .491 thru .500. On one of the drawings it was clearly marked AR10 (.500). On another drawing I found .500 + or - .004. So theres a helluva lot of room with + or - .004. I didn't look for further drawings of the upper after my first one spec'd out exactly at .496.