• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

loading cast NOE 225s

BrianK

I'm still learning ALOT(!) about casting and loading cast bullets since I'm a noob with homecast bullets. Maybe this will be old hat to some here. My mind is open if anyone cares to share their knowledge.

Coated 2x, tested some with a gas check and some w/o. It was suggested on the Cast Boolit Forum that a GC bullet is more accurate. Makes sense since the bullet is steered from the rear and not the front. 

I did NOT change all variables when I developed a load to test. I only got the load near subsonic with AA1680 powder and called it good since I was getting close to 100% function w/o a GC. I made them last autumn but didn't get a chance to test them until last weekend. The loads w/o a gas check were disappointing re: accuracy and less than 100% function. But I tested the GC loads (everything else being the same) got a bit more velocity, 100% function, and groups were 1/3 that of the loads w/o GCs; 1.5" @50 yards. I might lower the powder charge a bit to get it more into the subsonic range but if I don't I'm happy with what I have. 

I never thought that a GC would have that big an influence. FWIW, the bases of the bullets w/o the GCs are crisp and sharp. I also might try sizing them .001" larger and see what happens. 

Edited by BrianK

I'm going to tag on to the learning part. Just ordered a melting pot, ingot mold and putting together a list plus reading up on bullet casting. With everything going on up here, adding another process 'in-house' makes sense. Talked to my local scrap metal guy and he's open to setting aside lead for me. There is also a local gunsmith that does a lot of cowboy action stuff and sells refined lead.