• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New forum member

Freddie

Hello all. I am new to this forum. I came here looking for help with my build because I really haven't a clue as to what I should do. This is my first build and I am relatively inexperienced with guns. Here's my setup:

American Made Tactical .308 DPMS-style 80% lower
WMD Guns lower parts kit
Ergogrip SUREGRIP
Moriarti Armaments 6-position mil-spec stock kit
Moriarti Armaments 12.5" SOCOM-style pistol upper receiver assembly
Moriarti Armaments nitride bolt carrier group
Moriarti Armaments charging handle
Yankee Hill Machine Co flip-up iron sights

I have owned this rifle for about a year and a half and I have only been able to go out shooting once with it. The screws holding the handguard to the barrel nut warped the screw holes on the handguard while I was shooting and it became too loose to use. I purchased a Midwest Industries handguard as a replacement, but I have NO CLUE what type of barrel nut this is or how to remove it. Moriarti Armaments doesn't have a tool on their website and my upper receiver didn't come with one either. I remember reading somewhere (I don't remember where) that some barrel nuts can come off with a crescent wrench. I tried that but was unsuccessful. I tried pliers with a washrag to prevent damage but It got damaged anyways. I don't have much money and I would rather not purchase another completed upper receiver but I really see no other alternative. Thanks.

20220617_180931.jpg

20220617_181013.jpg

32 minutes ago, Freddie said:

Moriarti Armaments 6-position mil-spec stock kit
Moriarti Armaments 12.5" SOCOM-style pistol upper receiver assembly