• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

I am a newbie and I need help with my ORC

mwestra1

I just bought this thing brand new about a month ago, I took it to the range today to fire it for the first time and it wouldn't fire.  The firing pin didn't seem like it was hitting the primer hard enough...I tried several different rounds and got the same result.  The pin was hardly making a mark on the primer compared to other guns I have and a couple times the trigger wouldnt even pull

I removed the upper and the buffer spring flung out and saw that the buffer retainer pin was laying in the trigger mechanism all mangled up and the retainer spring was nowhere to be found.  I must have been dumb and lost it when I installed the single point sling mount but didnt realize it.

My question is ( and this may sound dumb), would this cause the problem I was having with this thing not firing, I ordered a new retainer and spring for it but I'm still bummed about it not firing and want to know I don't have any other problems

ok, there are others who can help more in depth, but, yes, shit can be f*#ked up. did you take out your trigger assembly, hammer, and inspect those parts? are the springs ok? since it wasn't striking the primer hard enough, you said, that would've been my interest cracking open the receivers. then you found what you did, and i would've been both pissed and a little relieved. now you have a source and you need to inspect. replace any parts that aren't up to snuff. since it was new/never shot, the things are super tight and need lots of lube, no joke, for at least maybe 100-200 rounds. i broke both mine in sopping wet and still lube them up before any use. if you need further help pics are going to be needed. good luck and welcome.