• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Setup

houdni

since im new to the art of 308AR hand loads?

mind if some of you share your thought on preference equipment, dies and what to gets.... maybe some tips as well....brand name dies that you like ....my rcbs rock came in... my case cleaner will be coming in soon...and currently bidding on an rcbs pro case trimmer as well...

95 % of my dies are RCBS ,never had a problem with them( 30 + years ), but all the name brands are good . Ya can't go wrong as long as you buy quality dies.

I prefer SB sizing dies ,most say you don't need them & since both my .223 & .308 dies a SB ,I have never had the need to find out , because of a fail to chamber , if I really needed them .

I still use the Pad with RCBS lube , never had a stuck case .

I like my Redding powder measure , with its micrometer  adj..

• 2 weeks later...

Redding Trickler.  It is very heavy,  cannot imagine chasing a very light trickler around and trying to be precise.  Almost every powder I use gets static cling or otherwise jams when flowing into the cases.  I watch the powder and assure that all the powder has flowed into the cases. ALL my loads are individually measured on a beam scale. 

I have been using a Lee scale but it is suffering from poor storage conditions (not enough space,  too much gear).  If you buy a Lee scale make a case.  Glue,  cardboard,  varnish will suffice.  Glue the case parts together you designed and made,  heavily varnish it (any polyurethane leftover varnish laying around?) then paint it with silver/aluminum spray paint.  If you do not want aluminum,  spray it the color of choice after the aluminum dries enough.  Cardboard saturated with varnish is strong and durable.  If you make a wood case,  the aluminum paint will still help.  It is a standard trick a lot of places.