• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Nikon choice

Ok , I , yes me , have a dilemma . I can not choose between a Nikon , Monarch, 4x16x42 & a Nikon , Buckmaster , 6x18x40 . I know the price difference & some quality differences between the two , but that means nothing . 

I want the scope for mid range shooting, so talk me in to or out of one or the other.

The Monarch is mil dot & the Buckmaster is a BDC reticule .

I'm with Matt on this one. If the price is similar.....I'd go for the magnification.....just because. But......with that being said. Being one of the card-carrying enablers of the site......I'd say get one of each and just build another rifle. <laughs>

This is a tough one! I have a Nikon Buckmaster 3x9x50 & a Nikon Monarch 3x9x40 both on hunting rifles. My go to deer rifle wears the Buckmaster 3x9x50, the only reason being it seems to preform better in low light conditions. (50mm vs 40mm?)  I have to believe what my eyes tell me. The Monarch was purchased around 1999,the Buckmaster 2004, IDK what changes were made from then till now.

I can defiantly tell that the Monarch is a better built scope, the adjustments are smoother, firmer, precise feeling. The Monarch has that "dense" heavy feel of a quality scope, the glass is slightly better than the Buckmaster's(Just enough that you can tell an improvement) 

I'm going to go against the grain (I am the Blksheep :)) ) and say if you have the extra $$ and this will be a mid range scope you wont need the extra XX, you'll get more satisfaction from the improved glass and overall better quality. I cannot comment on the Mildot vs BDC reticles because I've never tried a BDC reticle. Either scope will do the job but from my experience Nikon's glass, especially the Monarch series is under rated. What caliber rifle will this be used on?