• Visit EuroOptic
  • Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Starting some R&D on what I want and what I need...

Screwjack

Okay so from what I have read so far the logical place to start to be seems to be with a lower receiver and go from there.  It looks like you can build a .308 AR either from the ground up or you can get some assembled parts and put them together.  Meaning a stupid LR versus one with all the parts in it already and the same would be true for the uppers, is this correct?

So what I am thinking is an AR-15 based .308AR.  Ever though I am a beginner I would like to got with a stupid LR and put the parts in my self and maybe even get a nice trigger.  Couple of questions for you folks:

What kind of tools do I need to accumulate?

Is there an assembly manual that give the basics on LR assembly?

Is starting with the LR the logical place to start?

Also, if anyone wants to post pics of the .308AR I would not copy your build but look for ideas.

Thanks!

I'm in the middle of building one myself and I ran into problems trying to chamber a round.  At the moment, I think the best advise i can give you is don't do what i did and think you can build one as easy as an ar-15.  The parts are not standard like an ar-15 and twice the cost so it takes a lot more to get the to work together.  If I had it over, I think I'd pick a single manufacturer for the barrel, upper receiver and bolt carrier group and go from there.  I'm working on a Mega barrel, Aero precision upper receiver and a AIM surplus bcg and I can't get a round to go into the chamber without bending it.  Pretty damn frustrating after a lot of $.