• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

308 ORC extraction issues

olyinaz

Just one guy's report: I got a Bushmaster 308 ORC for Christmas and it's not run correctly since I got it.  Extremely frustrating.  It jams up, usually due to a failure to extract properly which leads to a failure to eject.  If I load one round the one round would often wind up just sitting there on top of the mag.  This video illustrates the issue VERY well:

I sent the rifle off to Bushmaster and they didn't do squat.  "Polished the feed ramps" and function tested it.  Got it back and it had the EXACT same issue.  Gee thanks.  At least it only took two months for this useless process that cost me money to run its course....  I have no idea what ammo they use to function test at Bushmaster, but I took the rifle directly to the range with six different brands of .308 WIN and 7.62 NATO ammo and the only brand that would run was Bear Silver (zinc plated steel case).

What's interesting is the rifle has always fired Russian steel cased .308 just fine.  Extracts and tosses them like a champ.  I suspect that the stiffer rims and perhaps slightly lower pressure (I've always found new Russian made commercial ammo - not Russian mil-surp - to be mild by comparison to other types and in my view it explains the "sooty" complaint that you often hear about this ammo).

Everything else was a complete disaster out of three different mag types - Bushmaster steel, C Products steel, and Magpul polymer.