• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

ar10 bcg compatiblity

Ketamine0815

Afternoon Gents. I'm new to the forum here, and new to the .308/7.62 as well. I have built several ar15's with no problems. So I spec'd everything out on this dpms pattern ar10. Upper/lower is Falkor Defense and I have a KAK double ejector that works pretty good. Was looking online and found a sweet deal on a Lantac ebcg. Figured it would be a nice backup and I have one for my 5.56 that works awesome. Well wouldn't you know it won't fit? when I pull the charging handle back it seizes up and gets stuck, have to use forward assist to back out to get it loose. I don't get it.  Any help would be appreciated. I am new to 7.62, and tried to get everything to jive. Am I wrong to think it should fit? Thanks in advance

sorry if my writing is confusing. the bcg moves with no problems in and out if the upper receiver when i have the upper receiver disassembled from the lower receiver. when i assemble the upper and lower back together and  pull the charging handle back, the bcg gets stuck. the bcg only makes it about half way of what it should before it would normally lock to the rear. when it gets locked in this position i have to use my forward assist the get the bcg to move forward

You may have a buffer tube issue. Are you useing a commercial or mil spec buffer tube. I think the inner diameter is smaller on one of them.  No expert on the subject here but that's the one thing I can think of that would cause a bolt carrier to get stuck half way back. Another is the little nub on top of the charging handle tip where it meets your gas key.  Is that rubbing on the inside top of your upper receiver when you pull it back?

Edited by MrPaul