• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

handguard questions

commanderjjones

Hey guys. Newbie here. Been hunting and shooting for 45 years but I'm NOT an AR guru and have some questions.

I just bought a DPMS Oracle LR308. Haven't received it yet, but I'm already ordering parts to set it up. This rifle is a budget build that I'll carry on my quad to hunt hogs, so I'm NOT gonna dump a bunch of money into it.

I'm wanting a full length quad rail or key mod FF guard. Problem is, I'm not sure what will and will not work. I've seen a BUNCHA of cheap stuff on eBay for anywhere from $30 to $80 or so. Yes, I know you get what you pay for, but as I mentioned, this is gonna be a cheap gun that will get beat on and occasionally muddy. As nice as it would be, I'm not gonna buy a $300 MI guard for this weapon. So here come the questions.

What do I need to look for as far as fitment goes? What length will go as far out the 16" barrel as possible without interfering with the flash hide and/or probably a suppressor (is 15" too long)? Will I need a low profile gas block? How can I know if the rail is co-witnessed if the seller doesn't list that info? Anything I should look for or stay away from?

Sorry for all of the newbie questions, and thanks in advance for your help and advice.

• 2 weeks later...
1 minute ago, commanderjjones said:

I'm pretty happy with it, and it shoots great. Not bad for less than $1000. It'll be even better after I get the LaRue trigger in it next week.

Have you already gotten a shipping notification from LaRue?

The last MBT I ordered didn't ship for 2-3 weeks.

14 hours ago, COBrien said:

Have you already gotten a shipping notification from LaRue?

The last MBT I ordered didn't ship for 2-3 weeks.

Wow!