• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Rookie builder - Starting on a .308

BeeKay

I bought a .358 lever gun and have always wanted a semi auto in that chambering... So that's what got me started.
I started reading up on the stuff that's out there and all the countless ways a guy can throw money away, and I decided to toss the dice.
To make it more interesting, I ordered an 80% lower. And at this point I'm wondering whether I may be setting myself up for a frustrating project.
I've only ordered 2 pieces so far: an 80% lower from 80% Arms Co. and a barrel chambered in .358 from KAK
These are both California companies and I am a CA resident so just being able to discuss possible complications with someone in-state swayed me to purchase from them, although they both are slightly higher priced.
Anyhow it was after ordering, that additional questions on compatability came to mind, and nobody is there on the weekends to pick up the phone.

I'm curious what anyone thinks of these components in terms of compatability?
I expect I will be ordering a BCG and upper assembly from KAK .
Is there anything special I need to know about whether the two components I'm getting, so far, and the way they fit together?

Thanks for welcoming me to the group - Replies greatly appreciated

Edited by BeeKay

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hey, BK, welcome to the forum. I have done several 80%, can't help you with compatibility but I would think they should both fit the same upper. Sounds like a cool build.  Post links to the barrel and lower, we'll take a look. Look for sales on Toolcraft BCG, should get one for $70+ or so. Toolcraft seems to be most everyone around here's goto BCG.