• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Jb

Jb333

Hello, I am pretty new to building...

I built and ar10 in .308 and thought it was finished and about ready to test fire..

The problem I'm having is charging the rifle.

It is very difficult to charge, I pretty much have to mortar it to get it to charge. Then when I let it go the bolt doesn't go all the way forward.

The bolt catch works, if I release it from that position it does go all the way foward, but if I just pull it back and release slowly, it kind of gets stuck half way.

I'm thinking about taking it to a gunsmith, just wanted to see if I could find some assistance first.

I built it on a live free armory receiver set, using a cmc bolt carier group, aero 308 lower parts kit. 

I'm not sure if the bcg is getting hung up on something? 

Thanks for any help/advice. 

"...and release slowly"

Here's your main problem. Pull that charging handle back til it stops and let it slip through your fingers. Act like you're trying to tear it up. You'll never cycle it by hand as violently as it cycles when you shoot it. It was made to slam/ bang around. You can't baby this thing.

I dont know if the problem is the lower receiver or the bcg, but what I have discovered is that if I pull the back pin and slightly open the receiver I am able to cycle it fine, i put the back pin back in, and I have to mortar it to get it to charge..

Anyone know a fix for this? Is this receiver out of spec?

Would an enhanced buffer tube with the lip fix this?

Should I abandon the cmc bcg with the larger back end?

Thank you

6 minutes ago, Jb333 said:

That may end up being the solution but lets take a close look first. If something is hanging up like that there should be some marks somewhere, inside the upper, on the lower where the buffer tube threads inside, on the BCG? Take some pics and post up if you see anything.