• Visit EuroOptic
  • Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

What could happen if you don't run a muzzle device on a build?

FOGeologist

Yes, it could change the harmonics and one result could be a change in point of impact, or change the accuracy either for the better or worse. There are muzzle devices in existence where one can change length to fine tune harmonics. I have no experience with them (maybe snake oil?) but it's been suggested by the manufacturers that they work. Does any manufacturer ever state, "We offer this add on, but it doesn't do a darn thing other than make us money?". A bayonet could be considered to be a muzzle device, though maybe not what you had in mind, and I never heard of one resulting in better accuracy when it's on the rifle. I've always heard of them degrading accuracy.  On the same track, there is a magnetic chronograph that has the sensor connected to the muzzle of the firearm and it's well known that one uses it only for velocity and not to shoot groups at the same time because it changes the flight of the bullets when it's attached.