• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New here, need help on first AR10

creepin722

Im new to the AR platform. I bought a complete AR10 upper from a gun show. All I know is it’s a 308 win. With a 1:10 twist, it came with a BCG and CH. For my lower I bought a palmetto state pa10 308 complete moe ept lower. 
When I charge the bolt it’s a little rough like it’s catching. Then when I fired a round the BCG stuck back into the buffer tube. I can dislodge it by bumping the butt on something or sometimes I have to separate the lower from the upper. 

1. Recoil system- DPMS LR308? (Spring and buffer)
  2. Buffer weight- 4oz
  3. Buffer length- 2.5”
  4. Extension buffer tube internal depth- 7”
  5. Spring- idk the brand, 11 3/8” long, 28 coils, has some yellow on the end of the spring
  6. Gas system length- see attached picture
  7. Gas tube length- 10 7/8
  8. Magwell- see attached picture
  9. Bolt face- attached picture
  10. BCG clearance- attached picture
  11. Gas journal diameter- 5/64” / Barrel diameter at gas journal- 3/4”
  12. I do not have a picture of when it happened. When I fired a round the BCG stuck back in the buffer tube after ejecting the shell. 

D5968F54-FE20-45FB-AE38-C5E2D4B14688.jpeg

8CCE1DF0-9488-49F4-A9B6-3898A15E4D28.jpeg

A61CDE36-E03B-4DB0-BABF-290602BA85D7.jpeg

0CCAA12F-886A-4307-BE8A-28B4BE2807F2.jpeg

4FBC3FCA-8570-420B-9260-A69CE51B4827.jpeg

02414F4D-859C-436E-B5E3-312581D69AD7.jpeg

E6D0152A-21DC-40C5-8C7C-028A94ED5468.jpeg

C208E4A7-21D7-4DFF-B6BB-0CE8DE8B6A37.jpeg

9 hours ago, creepin722 said:

For my lower I bought a palmetto state pa10 308 complete moe ept lower. 

Those are known to be proprietary (and PSA states that).  Getting them to work with other uppers is hit or miss.  That might be an issue later, after everything else here is sorted out.

9 hours ago, creepin722 said: