• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Which handguard should I choose?

Hey guys, I'm just getting started on my build, and I'm looking for you opinions on which handguard to go with.

A little info on my build. I'm using the DPMS slick side upper with the taller rail and a TM-10 Lower. I've got my Bison Armory barrel on the way with a JP bolt and the associated small bits. The barrel is a 18" Mid gas that measures .9" to the gas block, .75" at the gas block to the muzzle with the last 1.8" at .725". I plan to use a low profile gas block under whichever handguard I choose. Do I need a heavier duty gas block for the 308, or is the standard tear drop style fine?

My intended use is hunting medium to large game at extended distances (450y max) and punching paper. I may try to push it farther if I find a range that has the capability.

As for the handguard, I plan on only running glass on it so I don't need a rail on the top. I'd like to be able to have a rail section on the bottom for bipod/ sling, and smaller rail sections close to the receiver for QD sockets and my brass catcher (9 O'clock and 3 O'clock positions). So far the two I'm looking at are the JP and the JD. I know the JD doesn't have the rail sections near the receiver, but it looks so dang cool!  8)

Does anyone have any other suggestions for handguards I may have overlooked?

Thanks for reading!

Normally I'd suggest a 15" JP VTAC rail, but only if you were sticking to killing paper. Since you want to hunt too, that means you'll be humpin' the rifle all over. Then I suggest the Apex CNC rifle length.