• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Reloading CMMG 308

BayouBob

Are any of you guys reloading for your CMMG Mark 3?  I am now wondering about the chamber deminsions.  I have never experienced brass so hard to re-size.  (Federal and Remington)  I use Hornady Unique lube and I literally have to beat the arm of my Rockchucker to get the brass in and out of the die.  I have tried dipping the neck in mica but it didn't help.  I even sent a note to Hornady asking if I had a bad set of dies but I tried a set of RCBS dies and the same thing happens.  The brass isn't deformed in any way so the only thing I can figure is the chamber is badly oversized.  Any thoughts? 

By the way I have been reloading for over 40 years and have loaded countless 308 rounds fired out of other rifles.

• 3 weeks later...

Put the first few rounds down range with the Burris Electro Dot scope mounted just to get it on paper.  (I make notes of all my loads in my book and while I am working up I write on the case what the load is.  I forgot to mark the cases of this batch so I don't know which load was which.)  Just shooting at 50 meters to sight in and shot about a 1" composite group of a dozen shots.  Nothing to brag about but I'll go back with the loads marked and start looking for magical combinations.  Right now I'm focusing on Hornady A-Max and SST's and Nosler Accubonds.  Varget and IMR-4895 with Federal cases and primers are on the menu for starters.

The JP muzzle break just makes the recoil go away completely.  If there had been anyone else at the range they might not have enjoyed it as much as me; it is loud! 

Anyway, it was a fun day at the range.  Finished sighting in my fiance's little 5 lb AR-15; sighted in a Kimber in 325 WSM, Started working with 55gr. bullets on my Sig Sauer AR-15 heavy barrel and fired some more pairs out of my Chapuis double rifle.