• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

new from Hawaii

dagamore

Yep i live in hawaii, and am new to the big bore ar's.

I work for(not in) the US Army here on Oahu, have a secondhand LR-308 with the monster 24" bull barrel on it, and the magpul PRS on the back end, its a damn nice rifle, only shot 7.62x51 surplus out of it so far and its shooting better then i can, hitting a 6x6 plate @ ~450 meters, more often then not.  Will have to spend some time getting a good load setup for it. any info would be great. (powders/pills that this type of rifle likes to use, for mid to long range shooting 4-700 meters.

I am gearing up for Boomershoot at the end of April in Idaho, anyone else planning on going?  Will post pictures later, at work so can link to my photos for the most part.

I am very new to the island, just moved here in May/June timeframe, still pissed that I moved from one place I could not get ammo over the internet(Germany) to another, no one will ship to HI, so its either reload or pay what I think is too much for ammo, ~25 per box of 20(not bad but its just Winchester hunting ammo) the surplus is ~18 per box but often on sale for ~14 so thats not bad.  I am going to be rolling my own, kind of shocked the only 44 spl ammo I can find on island is that damn self defense stuff.  But I got a press/dies/molds/lead so thats a so thats not a problem but I won’t be casting for 308.