• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Same Head stamp

CMMG308

I'm new to Reloading (about 4 Months) Can Someone let Me know if there is an advantage to sorting brass by Head stamp and case weight? (same caliber) Is it best to keep the same Head stamps in groups and Load separate from other Head stamps? I have not had any problems caused by not sorting. I want to get the best I can from my Reloads.

I've just been Loading all Head stamps together.

I Reload 223, 308, .25 Rem (for a 102 yr. old Model 14 Rifle) and 9mm.

Thanks in Advance

Edited by CMMG308

I'm new to Reloading (about 4 Months) Can Someone let Me know if there is an advantage to sorting brass by Head stamp and case weight? (same caliber) Is it best to keep the same Head stamps in groups and Load separate from other Head stamps? I have not had any problems caused by not sorting. I want to get the best I can from my Reloads.

I've just been Loading all Head stamps together.

I Reload 223, 308, .25 Rem (for a 102 yr. old Model 14 Rifle) and 9mm.

Thanks in Advance

Short answer: YES!

Long answer - sorting cartridges by headstamp (and year) helps get you consistent reloads. Batches of cartridges may have volumetric differences that lead to inconsistent performance.

The "totally anal" answer: sort the cartridges by headstamp, year and weight for super consistent performance. This would likely apply if you can outshoot your current rifle...