• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Slamfire in my DPMS

Yesterday I was shooting my Oracle .308 and had a slam fire. I have been shooting since I was 12, 45 years ago, and enlisted in the Army in 1975. I've shot a few rounds through self loading rifles. But this slamfire was a first for me. I was using Hornady brass, Winchester LR primers and W748 powder under Hornady 150 gr. FMJ  bullets. I was certain that all primers were seated below flush, I check twice before charging with powder. I was under the impression that Winchester was a harder primer, but an aerospace engineer friend told me the Winchesters were very hard when they still used a nickel cup, but since switching over to a brass one they are now one of the softest. I went to several stores yesterday looking for CCI #34 primers but there were none to be had. My friend told me he has dissected various primers, and to him the CCI 250 mag primer is essentially the same as the #34. I will try some of those until some of the #34's are in stock here. I might add that the round fired when I hit the bolt release to start off another 5 round string. I would think the bolt velocity would not be any more than if the bolt was cycling from a previous shot. The DPMS rifles do seem to have tighter chambers than others I've fired. I have had no chambering problems in my .308 when sizing with a regular Full length die. Another friend, who bought a 5.56mm Oracle when I bought mine, was having problems with the bolt seating fully using brass that he full length sized. ( and O.A.L. was correct.) I checked the rounds he loaded in my L.E. Wilson cartridge gauge, and all inserted fully, no tightness. His is the first semi-auto rifle I've seen that might actually need a small base sizer.

009_zpslczj1wld.jpg

006_zpsqul16nyd.jpg

019_zpsvrpo5nnt.jpg