• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Load testing different bullets

skeeter

DSCN4633.jpg

Going to find out which will shoot best in my new rifle, I have been using 168gr Barnes TSX in my 300 RUM for the last 7 or 8 years with better then half a minute results. However my new polygonal rifled barrel on my .308AR doesnt seem to like the solid coppers very well, so its off the the loading bench to try out a few different bullets. This is going to be alot of fun!  <thumbsup>

For the time being I will only be testing two propellants H4895, and AR-Comp Varget.

Need to get ready for some feral hog eradication  >:D

I have to admit I have never used varget, but after getting a couple recomendations from you guys I checked it out and seems there is alot of very happy varget users out there. Now I have to go get another pound of powder. Which means I have to load more test rounds, which means I have to send more rounds downrange, and thats just terrible  ;)

• 4 weeks later...

Here we go, time to make my fingers hurt. It seems the older I get the more my fingers seem to hurt from working brass.

DSCN4687.jpg

Now that everything is lubed, resized, trimmed, deburred, and chamfered. its time to prime and charge.

[img width=810 height=607]http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/hh225/Polaris624/DSCN4688.jpg

[img width=810 height=607]http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/hh225/Polaris624/DSCN4691.jpg

60 rounds 5 of each bullet, with 2 charges of each powder.

42, and 44 gr of H4895, and 43 and 45 of Varget.

[img width=810 height=607]http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/hh225/Polaris624/DSCN4693.jpg

My little corner of the house, the wife gets the entire house and I get a small corner of the garage.

[img width=810 height=607]http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/hh225/Polaris624/DSCN4694.jpg

I will post the results next weekend.  ;)

Results from the load testing.