• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

FNG with an AR

Hi guys, this is great, having an community for the .308. This is my first gun purchase, and i'm glad there's a place to ask questions.

I decided on this rifle because a friend and i went out together to each get something. He went with an AR-15 Sig m400 .223, I wanted a little bigger and went with the .308.

I got a DPMS Panther .308 LR, It's got a 16" barrel. Flat-top.

Being new to ARs, i wanted to know if there's anything that could or should be Upgraded/replaced. I understand the factory trigger is 7lbs? That seems heavy?

I'd like to hear anyone's recommendations on parts or whatever

Thanks   

post-1810-136297273624_thumb.jpg

I'm new with ARs so take this with a grain of salt, Trigger,muzzle brake, scope mount> I like to keep my scopes as close to the center of the bore as possible, yours looks higher than necessary imo, welcome to the site,stright jackets arn't included ;D

Go to Brownell's and buy a CAA grip and a BAD-A.S.S. 

Go to a local sporting goods store that sells a lot of guns & accessories and buy a Limbsaver (shotgun) butt pad that (nearly) matches the butt of your new rifle. 

Install them. 

Find and buy a set of iron back-up sights (if your rifle does not already have them)(mine are Chinese,  I really never intend to use them but have them in case). 

Find a nice scope on sale from MidwayUSA.  Or,  you can spend 3x or 4x the money for something else,  your choice.  My AR scope is a Nikon (from MidwayUSA) with mil-dot reticle. 

Read the section on triggers in this forum.  My trigger is the RRA as noted in "Triggers."  Keep in mind that some triggers will void your warranty and some will not.