• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

dpms buffer spring in Magpul stock

I am a complete newbie to AR's but i am building a dpms 308 lr for my 14 yr old son.  I have purchased so far the upper, lower, trigger kit, new grip, and a magpul stock.  I ordered from Brownells the long buffer,  buffer tube and spring.  Currently nothing holds the buffer and spring in the tube.  Will the bolt assembly permanently hold the buffer in the stock to provide the force to move the bolt or am I missing a part?  I know this might be a retarded question but I come from pistols and none of my group shoot AR's so I have no guidance.  Thx

Mharris, welcome!

From the looks of it, you're missing a buffer detent and spring. Had you bought a complete "Lower Parts Kit" these parts would have been part of that package.

http://classic.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=24084/Product/BUFFER-DETENT

http://classic.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=24085/Product/BUFFER-DETENT-SPRING

These two parts drop in the hole at te end of the threads where the buffer tube screws in. While holding the detent in with your finger, screw the buffer tube in till the lip of the buffer tube just passes the edge of the detent. The nipple at the top of the detent should still be exposed. That nipple is what holds in the buffer and spring.

Now my question is, exactly which model Magpul stock did you buy? The long tube (also referred to as a rifle length or A1 tube) only fits fixed length stocks. I know magpul makes a fixed version, but I want to make sure you're not trying to put a collapsible stock on a fixed tube.