• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Load data for .308 in lake city brass?

darb

I am new to reloading. Since the case of the L.C. is thicker I have read to reduce powder by 2 grs. in the Speer manual it says 3%. In the hornady manual it does not say, but there are not as many choices with the 308 Winchester service rifle data v.s. the .308 Winchester data. Lyman states 1-2 grains below max. listed charges. I know when starting out to start at the lower velocities, but what would that be? What are some recommendations? I also will be using the .223 Remington data with L.C. brass.   Just for your information 1 Ar-15 has a 20" barrel with 1/7 twist, 2nd Ar-15 has 16" barrel with 1/7 twist and the .308/7.62 has a 24" barrel with 1/10 twist. Thanks ???

The difference is in the 5.56 NATO vs .223 Rem stuff - not in .308 Win vs 7.62x51 NATO.

Speer reloading manual # 14 308 Winchester "Reduce charges developed in commercial cases at least three percent when loading military brass". Lyman 49th edition: " Shooters should also stay one to two grains below the listed maximum charges due to the smaller volume of GI brass". I am 60 years old and know books are books. I figured it would be a good starting point, but experience is experience. I am trying to get clarification and understanding. Thanks

In light of that data, I think I'll go cut up some 308 Win and 7.62x51 and measure some stuff out, just to see what's going on with the brass.

Doesn't make too much sense to lower the powder amount in NATO brass, on this caliber, considering the fact that .308 Win has higher chamber pressures over 7.62x51.  Don't know then...  <dontknow>

Doesn't make too much sense to lower the powder amount in NATO brass, on this caliber, considering the fact that .308 Win has higher chamber pressures over 7.62x51.  Don't know then...  <dontknow>