• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

imschur's 300 AAC Blackout Project

imschur

Well seeing I have a 16" Wilson Combat Recon Barrel and two boxes of ammo I might as well get this thing built. To that end I thought it might be fun to kick around my choices, options and such.

A few things to keep in mind. I live in CT and we have an assault weapons ban.  I can build a complete and nuetered weapon or utilize my preban Colt Sporter and do anything I want.

Also keep in mind if things go as planned I will have a 7.62 suppressor by winter.

So lets start with a basic question. What is the design role of a weapon chambered in 300 aac blackout?  <munch>

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

It's my understanding that it was developed for a military/LE  type application, where they wanted good lethality at relatively close range from short barreled/suppressed weapons. What I hear is that a lot of people are finding that it's also an effective hunting rd at distances of less than 200 yds (makes sense).  My hope is that it will be useful for competition shooting against .223 equipped competitors because, if it is possible to make the major power factor, you are scored more leniently and don't have to be quite as accurate. I know that if I could own a suppressed gun, I'd be thinking suppressed SBR.  So, which of these functions sounds most interesting to you Drew? Another thing that is appealing about it is that it offers 7.62X39 performance in a package that shares much commonality with the AR 15 so you can make use of BCG's and magazines that you likely already have.