• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Sights not aligned (?)

Okay, I'm a relative newbie with the black rifle. I've used them a bit, a long time ago, but never had to monkey with repairing or adjusting them significantly. So here's my issue:

I bought a new DPMS MOE model. Sighting in, it was shooting to the right by about 6 or 8 inches at around 50 yards. I cranked the rear sight (Magpul BUIS) all the way to the left and got it to hit about 1 or 2 inches to the right, still at 50 yards. So I took some masking tape, put a couple of pieces on the handguard at front and rear, set my combination square to give me a line near the center of the handguard, then marked it off on both left and right sides, front and back. Then I laid a straightedge on the marks and took some pics. As far as I can see, the front sight is way off to the right.

If this was a bolt gun, I'd just drift the sight over and get it lined up. But I don't want to screw up this rifle before I've had a chance to really get to know it. So, any help you guys could offer would be most welcome. Pics below. I know the pics don't show the rear pieces of tape, but trust me, the straightedge is aligned properly.

sight_alignment_right.jpg

sight_alignment_left.jpg

Edited by Sharpshooter

Not what I was thinking I'd see. My dad installed his backwards and I never noticed it was wrong. We couldn't get it to sight in and we're having a similar experience. Once it was pointed the right way...all was good. 

Did you buy that BUIS seperate, or did it come with the rifle?